Lauren Lewthwaite Last Updated On: July 25, 2023

How to Find the Best Car Insurance in Delaware ?

From the landscape to the accents, and to even the car insurance, each of America’s 50 states are unique. That’s why we took a deep dive into car insurance in Delaware, so that as a Delawarean, you know exactly what you need before hitting the road in The First State. 

Keep reading to learn the average cost, specific laws, and money-saving tips for Delaware auto insurance policies. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Table of Contents

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Delaware

Don’t be silly. Driving without insurance is not only extremely dangerous, it’s also illegal. If you are caught driving without insurance in Delaware, you will be hit with the following legal penalties: 

  • $1,500 fine for first offense
  • $3,000 fine and suspension of vehicle registration for subsequent offenses

Also, your insurance provider will find out if you’re caught driving without insurance. This infraction will flag you as a high-risk driver, meaning you’ll pay more on your policy. And no one wants that to happen. 

Not to mention the massive amount of expenses that will fall on you—and you alone—should you get into an accident without insurance coverage. That’s right: without insurance, you’re stuck footing the bill for your vehicle repairs and any damage to the other driver’s vehicle, let alone medical costs, legal fees, and more. 

So let’s all do ourselves a favor and get the coverage we need. It’s easier than you might think!

Minimum Coverage Car Insurance in Delaware

It’s best to play it safe and carry at least the minimum coverage auto insurance in Delaware. 

Every state has its own minimum coverage requirements for car insurance. These requirements are the bare minimum coverage that every driver is legally obligated to carry.  

In Delaware, all drivers must carry at a minimum:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability coverage
  • $15,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) per person
  • $30,000 in PIP per accident

Carrying a bare-bones minimum coverage policy will give you the cheapest car insurance in Delaware. While minimum coverage is very inexpensive, insurance experts encourage you to purchase more coverage if possible. This is because the minimum coverage requirements still leave drivers vulnerable in the event of large accidents, theft, vandalism, and more. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Full Coverage Delaware Car Insurance Policies

Insurance experts recommend a full coverage policy as the standard amount of car insurance most drivers should carry.  In addition to the minimum coverage requirements, a full coverage policy includes: 
  • Collision coverage for expenses as a result of damage to your vehicle in an accident.
  • Comprehensive coverage for expenses due to non-collision-related events such as theft or vandalism.
Keep in mind that if you lease or finance your vehicle, you’re probably going to need to have a full coverage policy in place.

Additional Car Insurance Coverage for Delaware

Your coverage options don’t stop at minimum or full coverage policies. There are also a variety of additional coverages you might consider purchasing to flesh out your policy because car insurance is a delicious buffet of options that you can pick and choose from. Let’s dig in!  Here are some of the additional Delaware car insurance coverages: 
  • Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist Coverage: This is for accidents where the other driver does not have sufficient (or any) coverage for your expenses.
  • Full Tort Coverage: This is for suing other drivers for pain and suffering should you get injured in an accident.
  • Limited Tort Coverage: This is also for suing other drivers but has some restrictions.
  • Gap Insurance: This covers the difference between your car’s current value and the value it had when it was originally purchased.
  • Roadside Assistance: If you get stranded on the side of the road, this covers a tow to a nearby repair shop or minor roadside repairs.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If your vehicle is being repaired, you’re going to want a rental car to get around and this helps cover those costs.
While none of these additional coverages are necessary, they can certainly come in handy at times. It’s a good idea to consider these options, especially if you have room in your budget. 

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Delaware

We’ve talked about different coverage options for different budgets, and now it’s time to get specific about how much car insurance costs in The First State. 

Before we provide you with a number, we first want to caution you that the cost of car insurance varies greatly. The price of your policy will depend on:

  • Amount of Coverage 
  • Age 
  • Gender
  • Driving history 
  • Claims history 
  • Type of vehicle

That said, the overall average cost of a full-coverage car insurance policy in Delaware is $2,103 per year. On the other hand, a minimum coverage policy costs $801 per year on average. 

You can use these average numbers as a baseline to compare your Delaware car insurance quotes against. They can help you determine whether or not you have found a good deal, but keep in mind your personal details can help sway those numbers lower or higher (especially if you have a history of claims or driving infractions). 

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Is Car Insurance in Delaware Expensive?

We are sad to report that the automobile insurance rates in Delaware are more expensive than in neighboring states. 

In fact, Delaware actually has some of the highest car insurance costs in the country. The national average costs are $622 per year for minimum coverage and $2,014 per year for full coverage. Both of these rates are significantly less than Delaware’s averages. 

A big reason for the higher prices in The First State is its dense population. This very small state has nearly a million licensed drivers on the road, which dramatically increases the risk of accidents. This inflated risk translates to a larger cost to drivers.

How to Find Affordable Car Insurance in Delaware

Don’t get discouraged! There are still lots of ways that you can save money and find the best car insurance in Delaware. Here are some tips on how to secure cheap auto insurance in Delaware: 
  • Bundle your car insurance policy with a home insurance policy for a discounted rate.
  • Shop around by comparing multiple car insurance quotes in Delaware before making a decision.
  • Practice safe driving to keep a squeaky-clean record that will reduce your car insurance premiums.
  • Seek discounts by enquiring with insurance companies about reduced rates for veterans, alumni, etc.
  • Understand your needs by consulting insurance experts for advice on what is reasonable for you to pay.
  • Reassess your policy frequently to see if it is worth it to switch to a better policy.
By implementing these easy strategies, it’s super simple to save money on car insurance and you’ll have the best deal possible before you know it. Start by accessing free quotes here, and see how much you can save. 

Car Insurance for Teen Drivers in Delaware

One of the most expensive groups of drivers to insure are teenagers. These young new drivers are at high risk because they do not have the experience that mature drivers do.  It’s crucial that teen drivers adhere to Delaware’s state laws in order to keep them on the path to saving money on insurance. The laws for teen drivers in the state are as follows: 
  • At the age of 16, your teen can obtain a learner’s permit, “Blue Certificate,” by passing a driver’s education class.
  • For the first six months of driving, the teen must be accompanied by an adult aged 25 or older with five years of driving experience.
  • Teens must keep a record of driving hours in the first six months and drive a minimum of 50 hours total with 10 of those hours being at night.
  • For the second six months, the teen can drive unsupervised between 6 am and 10 pm (if they drive outside of those hours, they must be supervised).
  • After exactly one year of driving without any accidents or tickets, the teen’s license will automatically update to a full license.
Although it can be painful paying higher rates for your teenager, it’s only temporary. The sooner that your teen puts in hours of safe driving, the sooner their insurance rates will decrease. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Find the Best Car Insurance in Delaware

Everyone has their own unique set of circumstances when it comes to car insurance. Maybe you’re about to have teenage drivers in the family, or maybe you have some blemishes on your driving record.

Whatever your circumstances, the best automobile insurance policy in Delaware is the one that is right for you and your budget. Your best bet is to shop around for quotes, compare coverage, and ask questions before landing on a policy that suits you best. 

We’re ready for you. Click here to access free car insurance quotes fast, and you’ll be on the road to saving big on your auto insurance. 


Stay Up-to-Date
Subscribe to our newsletter and receive alerts, offers, education, and updates in your inbox.