Jessica Fox Last Updated On: August 7, 2023

Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in Wyoming

Finding car insurance in Wyoming just got easier and more affordable than ever.

We’ve dug deep and compiled this resource on everything you really need to know about Wyoming car insurance, from how to get the best rates, to insurance regulations within the Equality State.

It doesn’t matter if you’re someone looking to insure a car for the first time, or if you already have car insurance: everyone can benefit from this awesome intel about getting car insurance in Wyoming.

Keep reading, and find out not only what you need to get covered, but how to get the cheapest car insurance in Wyoming without sacrificing on protection.

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Table of Contents

Wyoming Car Insurance: What Coverage Do You Need?

Every single state has different rules and regulations about what types and levels of auto insurance you require to drive legally, including Wyoming.

To drive in Wyoming, by law, you need to carry the following minimum coverage requirements:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury
  • $20,000 property damage liability coverage

So, these amounts are the limits you must have to drive legally, but that does not mean that these coverages are all you’ll want. Depending on your car as well as your driving habits and who else drives the car, if anyone, you may want to increase your limits for more protection. 

For example, these minimum requirements do not cover theft, vandalism, or damage to your car because of weather. But if you live in or regularly drive to a high crime area, you may want this kind of protection. This is one of the main reasons it’s important to shop around for car insurance, get multiple quotes, and talk to your agent about what, exactly, is covered by your policy.

After all, getting the cheapest car insurance in Wyoming is great, but only if you’re covered how you need to be, when you need to be.

We can help. Request a fast and free quote for Wyoming car insurance from us today.

What is the Cost of Car Insurance in Wyoming?

Here’s some good news: the cost of car insurance in Wyoming is around the national average–about $1,528 per year–so you’re not going to be stuck shopping for auto insurance in one of the more costly states.

Of course, there are many factors that influence how much car insurance will cost, including:

  • Your age. Younger and older drivers are statistically more risky drivers to insure, and because of this, their rates tend to be higher.
  • Your driving history. If you have a history of dangerous driving, your car insurance will cost more, plain and simple. Likewise, if you’ve been a historically good driver, you can expect a better rate.
  • Where you live. Within the state of Wyoming, there are some cities that are cheaper to live in than others. For instance, Big Horn is the place you’ll find the cheapest insurance in Wyoming and Wilson is the most expensive place.
  • The type of car you drive. The type of car you drive can affect your insurance rates because some cars are safer than others and statistically speaking, there are some cars that are involved in more accidents than others. Subaru’s are some of the least expensive cars to insure nationwide, while Tesla’s and the Dodge RAM are two of the most expensive.

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

How Can You Reduce the Rate of Your Car Insurance in Wyoming?

Even with a less than perfect driving record, there are some easy ways to slash the price of your car insurance premiums.

  • Take a safe driving course. By proving to your insurance company you’re serious about safe driving, you can save up to 10% annually on your car insurance.
  • Bundle your insurance. Consider getting your home and any other insurable assets you have covered by the same provider to get a discount on your premiums.
  • Military/veteran discounts. If you are or were in the military, you can save big on your car insurance in Wyoming. In fact, through USAA, current military members or veterans can pay as little as $180 per year for coverage.
  • Consider pay-per-mile auto insurance. If you don’t drive much or far, look into pay-per-mile car insurance in Wyoming–a type of coverage that only charges you for the miles you actually drive.
  • Shop around. We can’t undersell the importance of shopping around for the cheapest car insurance in Wyoming. Even if you’ve been with the same provider for years, shop around. Get free quotes. Prices can vary dramatically between providers and getting a single comparison quote, which takes less than a minute, can save you hundreds of dollars (if not more) every year. 

Consider this: a plan with American National costs, on average, $1,473 per year, and the same plan, with MetLife, costs $4,651. It pays to compare Wyoming car insurance quotes. 

So, you can see that a little time doing your due diligence and shopping around can save you a LOT of money.

What Happens If You Drive Without Car Insurance in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, you are legally required to carry proof of insurance coverage with you while driving. If you are asked by law enforcement to present proof of insurance, you must do so. 

Failure to produce insurance or simply not having car insurance in Wyoming and getting caught carries steep penalties, including:

  • A $750 fine for the first offense
  • Jail time of up to six months
  • Suspension of your driver’s license and a $50 fee for reinstatement of license
  • Requirement to file an SR-22 form*
  • Fines of up to $15,000 for repeat offenses
  • More jail time for repeated offenses
  • Revocation of drivers registration and license

What's an SR-22 form?

An SR-22 form is a form that must be filed by your insurance provider to prove to the state of Wyoming that you are insured. You will require this form if you have a driving violation, like driving with a suspended license, an at-fault collision, a DUI conviction, driving without insurance, or having too many points on your license.

To have your company file an SR-22 form, you simply have to ask them. Just keep in mind your provider may refuse, in which case, you have to shop around for new coverage, which will cost more because you’re flagged as a riskier driver.

If you are uninsured and need an SR-22 to drive, you can still get the form and coverage, but your provider options will be limited and you may be required to pay an up-front fee.

Finally, if you need an SR-22 and don’t have a vehicle, you will need to get an insurance policy before you can request the SR-22 form. Our advice is to look for a non-owners insurance policy, which is usually less costly than a traditional plan because it doesn’t actually cover any material damage to your car.

The Takeaway: Getting The Cheapest Car Insurance in Wyoming

Getting the cheapest car insurance in Wyoming for you doesn’t mean you’ll be getting the cheapest car insurance on the market. It just means that you will be getting the best price on the coverage you need, and that will be different for everyone, depending on those factors we mentioned: your age, your driving history, your other insurable assets, and the type of car you drive — the list goes on.

To make sure you’re getting the best coverage possible, take our word for it: shop around. We can help. Get fast and free Wyoming car insurance quotes with us. We curate our list from the nation’s most trusted providers, so we’ve got you covered.

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required


Stay Up-to-Date
Subscribe to our newsletter and receive alerts, offers, education, and updates in your inbox.