Hollay Ghadery Last Updated On: February 12, 2024

Hit the Road with the Car Insurance Coverage You Need

Connecticut might be the birthplace of the Great American Hamburger, but it’s also home to excellent car insurance. 

Whether you’re looking for car insurance now or just starting to explore your options, we’ve got everything you need to know, from coverage options to cost, and everything in between. 

Keep reading and we’ll take you on a tour of all your car insurance options for those living in or just passing through the beautiful state of Connecticut. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Table of Contents

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut

Every state has different car insurance minimums, and Connecticut is no exception. 

To satisfy Connecticut’s car insurance laws, meaning you’re legally allowed to drive in Connecticut, your car insurance policy must include the following:

  • Liability minimum requirements (25/50/25)
    • $25,000 bodily injury per person, for a maximum payout of $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
    • $25,000 property damage coverage
  • Uninsured motorist coverage (25/50)
    • $25,000 a person per accident, if an uninsured or underinsured motorist injures you for a total of $50,000 per accident
  • Connecticut doesn’t require motorists to have uninsured motorist property damage coverage

It’s important to note that Connecticut is a no-fault state: under state law, all drivers must have some form of personal injury protection.

In other words, if you cause an accident or are on the receiving end of an accident, your car insurance will pay out $25,000 for medical expenses per person, for no more than $50,000 per accident. But, if someone with insufficient car insurance hits you, state minimums won’t protect you from paying out of pocket for property damages.

While it may be tempting to save a few dollars by taking out only liability and uninsured motorist coverage (satisfying state minimums), the “bare minimum” gives you just moderate protection from paying for an incident out of pocket. 

For example, if you hit a vehicle worth $50,000, your minimum property damage coverage will only pay out $25,000, meaning you’re on the hook for the remaining $25,000. So, if you’re looking for “maximum protection”, consider adding collision and comprehensive, or other optional add-ons to your policy to be safe.

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

Optional Car Insurance Policy Add-Ons

If you’re of the mindset, it’s better to be safe than sorry, then satisfying the state minimums is not enough coverage. Consider beefing up your car insurance policy with any of these optional add-ons:
  • Collision: Liability, also known as state minimums, covers expenses (medical and damages) to the person you hit, but it won’t pay to fix damages to your vehicle. Collision coverage will pay for repairs to your car if you’re in an accident.
  • Comprehensive: If anything happens to your car outside of an accident—theft, vandalism, weather-related damages, damages from hitting an animal, etc.—insurance will cover it. 
  • New Car Replacement: If an accident totals your vehicle, this add-on allows you to replace your totalled one with the same make/model.
  • Gap Insurance: Gap insurance is ideal for anyone leasing or financing a car. Why? Gap insurance will pay off the outstanding car loan if your vehicle is totalled, so you don’t get stuck paying the remaining amount. 
  • Medical Payments: If you or your passenger are injured in an accident and the other driver’s insurance won’t cover your costs, medical payment coverage will kick in. This add-on will also help pay for lost wages, childminding fees, funeral expenses, etc. However, this coverage isn’t always necessary if you have good health insurance, so you’ll want to check if you really need this additional coverage.
  • Ride Sharing: This policy add-on is mandatory if you’re a ride-sharing driver for Uber or other such companies.  
In Connecticut, like any other state, you can customize your car insurance coverage to fit your lifestyle and risk appetite. As long as you’re satisfying state minimum insurance requirements, you can pick and choose optional add-on coverage to fit your needs. From the Quiet Corner to the Gold Coast, your car insurance coverage is fully under your control. 

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Connecticut?

The average cost of full coverage vehicle insurance in America is $1,771 per year, while the average cost of car insurance in Connecticut is $1,533. So, it pays to live in the Nutmeg State!

However, the cost of minimum coverage in the U.S. is $545, but in Connecticut it jumps to $646. The $99 variance between the national and state minimum averages could be because Connecticut requires drivers to have uninsured motorist coverage (bodily injury and personal property). In contrast, the minimum requirement in many states is only liability, not uninsured motorist coverage.

The Risks of Driving Without Insurance in Connecticut

If you drive without valid car insurance in Connecticut, you could land yourself in hot water.  Here are some of the possible penalties for driving without car insurance:
  • License suspension
    • $175 license reinstatement fee
  • A $50 fine for failing to provide proof of insurance to the officer that pulled you over, even if you have active, up-to-date car insurance
  • A fine of $100-$1,000
  • Community vehicle fines of $100-$5,000
    • Possible jail time (depending on the situation)
Driving without insurance is risky and not worth it, especially when you are more than able to find cheap car insurance in Connecticut. More on that next. 

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

How Insurance Rates Are Calculated in Connecticut

There is no such thing as universal car insurance rates, just as there is no such thing as a one-size-fits-all car insurance policy. Your insurance quote is personalized to you, and is based off of the following factors in Connecticut: 

  • Age: Young adults between the ages of 16-19 pay the highest rates, while those in their 20-70’s pay the lowest annual rates.
  • Driving history (including violations): Good drivers get discounts, and drivers with infractions—or worse, numerous infractions—will pay higher rates. For instance, if you get charged with a DUI in Connecticut, your rates could increase by a whopping $1,199! 
  • Gender: Gender isn’t a huge factor in determining rates unless the driver is a teenage male, in which case they can end up paying much more than a female teen.
  • Marital status: Married couples get a small discount on their car insurance compared to singles, divorced, or widowed drivers who won’t get a “couple’s discount.”
  • Coverage: Liability-only insurance (liability and uninsured motorist coverage in Connecticut) will cost less than comprehensive coverage, but keep in mind that it could end up costing you more in the long run if you get into an accident.
  • Credit score: Connecticut drivers with good to exceptionally good credit will save on their car insurance as they are considered more dependable. In contrast, those with poor credit scores will pay higher car insurance rates. 

Car insurance premiums can vary significantly by provider, so it’s critical to shop around for coverage and compare rates before you put your John Hancock on an insurance policy.  

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Connecticut

If you are looking to shrink your car insurance rates without compromising “on coverage, then these are some of the ways you can save yourself some money:

  • Safe driver discount: If you’re accident-and-ticket-free, you could be eligible for a safe driver discount with most insurance providers. Another way to prove you’re a good driver is via telematics, which allows your insurer to track your driving habits; drive well, and you’ll receive a discount.  
  • Young driver discount: Policyholders with children under 25 on their policy are eligible for a young driver discount if their children have good driving records.
  • Other discounts:
    • Bundling multiple policies
    • Safety features (e.g., anti-theft systems etc.)
    • Corporate discounts 
    • Veteran discounts
    • Student discounts

Outside of securing discounts on your auto insurance, there are other ways to save money on car insurance in Connecticut, such as:

  • Always shop around for the best car insurance quote. Every insurance company uses different rate-generating algorithms, so you won’t know which company gives you the best rates unless you shop around!
  • Choose a “safe car”, or at least not a sports car, an expensive car, or a frequently stolen make 
  • Work on improving your credit score
  • Maintain a clean driving record
  • Increase your deductible, as it will decrease your premiums

You might not be able to find Stars Hollow, the fictional Connecticut town of the hit show Gilmore Girls, but you can find savings on car insurance. What’s most important is that you don’t take the first quote you see, and instead take your time to find the best rate and policy for you.

ConsumerCoverage can help save you time and money. Get access to free quotes and rest assured that you’re getting the best possible deal on car insurance in the state of Connecticut.  

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required

What High-Risk Drivers Should Know About Car Insurance In Connecticut

Connecticut may be home to one of the most comforting foods, the hamburger, but this state is tough on high-risk drivers. Perhaps one of the reasons Connecticut residents are seeing a rise in their car insurance rates is due to the number of traffic accident-related fatalities that have been on the rise since 2021.  Whatever the case, Connecticut is not opposed to raising car insurance rates for high-risk violations. Some of the high-risk violations that could increase your rates by over 100% are:
  • DUI
  • Racing
  • Reckless Driving
  • Driving with a License Suspension
  • Refusal to Perform a Chemical Test (such as a Breathalyzer)
  • Hit and Run/Leaving the Accident Scene 
If you’re convicted of a DUI or other serious infractions, you’ll need an SR-22 to secure car insurance. However, if you have/need an SR-22, it will be tougher to find cheap car insurance in Connecticut until the infraction is off your record.

Final Thoughts on Finding Good Car Insurance in Connecticut

Whether you’re hitting the drive-thru for a burger, passing through the state, or you live in Connecticut, you should never compromise on having good car insurance. 

Don’t settle for subpar minimum coverage because it only protects you against minor accidents and could end up costing you in the long run. You deserve car insurance that goes the extra mile. If you’re ready to start exploring your car insurance options, start by getting a risk-free quote now with ConsumerCoverage.

Free Car Insurance Comparison - Save up to 30%

No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

No Signup required


Stay Up-to-Date
Subscribe to our newsletter and receive alerts, offers, education, and updates in your inbox.